Thread: Weddings etc.
View Single Post
Old Jul 28, 2006, 9:12 AM   #2
Monza76

TDN wrote:
Quote:
Hey Ira, I read in other topics that you do wedding shoots and create albums for friends.

This looks like a great way to earn some extra cash to me, since I'm a student and my time/money is limited, I could sure use it.

I have a couple of questions:

Do you need any licenses for that?

How much do you ask for 1 wedding album? How much do professional photographers ask, so I can know where to draw a line.

What's your average expense for 1 wedding? (i.e. sending the photos to a fuji lab, buying the material for the album itself...)

How do you get in touch with the couples? I don't know that many people getting married...

And last but not least: any tips?:-)

Thanks,

TDN

OK, first of all weddings are terrifying at first. It is not for the faint hearted. I think you should do a little research into the trials and tribulations of wedding photography before you rush forward.

I started doing photos for family, basically at cost, I have never advertised and I only shoot a wedding if approached to do so by someone who seems to be aware of my amateurstatus.Over the years I have used equipment from a Pentax K1000, through Minolta Maxxum 7000 to a Fuji S7000 (first attempt at digital, a "budget" job for friends that turned out very nice). This weekend I shoot my first wedding with the DL.

Licenses required? That depends on local laws. Since I do only occasional work none is required here however if I earn more than a certain amount I have to claim the income in my taxes (again that numberwill vary)