Thread: Pentax 300/f2.8
View Single Post
Old May 29, 2009, 2:14 PM   #6
snostorm

Quote:
Originally Posted by jelpee View Post
If I were to look for a Pentax 300mm f/2.8, where would I start? i.e. Is this lens in current production by Pentax in order to get one new? I thought I read some where that it was possible to order one through Pentax to be built to order...but it was on a discussion thread to which I did not attach much credence. Is the second hand market the only place to purchase this lens? I am not keen on an e-bay transaction on such a high $ purchase from a seller who I would not know.
Hi jelpee,

Sorry I didn't see this before. More of these type of lenses are becoming available used. I've been monitoring them off and on for a couple of years. I think that the economic atmosphere is causing people to sell off little used high end teles that were probably sitting around in closets somewhere -- and on the buyer's side, less people are willing to pay super premium prices for them, so they aren't being snapped up as fast as they had in the past (maybe there's still hope to snag an FA*200/4 Macro for reasonable money). I've probably seen more A*, F*, and FA* ultra teles and zooms offered in the last 6 months than in the previous year. There were actually 2 A*400/2.8s available from different sources at the same time, both priced at less than $3000, and an FA*250-600 that went for under $4000, all of which are pretty unheard of. I was tempted, but these are both @ 13 lb lenses -- way too big and heavy for me to lug around. . .