Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Jun 20, 2003, 8:47 PM   #1

Default how do I use these lenses??

Hi all,

I am a total newbie, and I need to ask a silly question...

I just got a Canon G3 digital camera, a wide-angle lens, a telephoto zoom lens, and a lens adapter as a gift.

When I attach the add on lenses, I can't see a difference. For example, I can't zoom any more with the telephoto lens as I can with the original lens.

Am I missing something? I thought that if I attach the zoom lens, I would be able to see a noticeable difference in the viewfinder or lcd screen.

The lenses are from Digital Optics. The wide angle lens is a 0.45xxx wide angle lens.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Hammy
hammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 21, 2003, 2:36 AM   #2

Hi,

If you connect everything correctly you should have less wideangle and more zoom with the telephoto lens.

However all is shifted so you will not have MORE zoom.

Take a picture of an object in the distance at maximum zoom, now add the telephoto lens and take the same picture at maximum zoom if all works this last photo would be closer.

Don't expect miracles if your camera has only 3x Zoom and the telephoto lens is a 1.54x this will only make your camera a roughly 4.5x zoom camera.

Greetings,
Frank
Frank Doorhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2003, 2:21 AM   #3

Frank, I'm glad you answered that question, because I have been wondering whether the zoom and wide angle lens' for the Canon Powershots were worth buying.

I'm feeling less inclined to get the lens now.
JanetKP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2003, 11:10 AM   #4

Hi yall

So I'll take this opportunity to ask: when you use a telephoto lens, how do you calculate the final zoom value? Do you add the zoom values or multiply them?

For instance:
camera = 3x
telephoto = 2.4x (Canon TC-DC52)

Final zoom = 3 * 2.4 = 7.2x or 3 + 2.4 = 5.4x????

Cheers.

Paulo