Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Jul 22, 2002, 12:55 AM   #1

Default A real stupid question about polarizing filters

I'm very new to digital cameras, but here is my question: I shoot a lot of 35 mm film outside near the water. With both my SLR cameras I almost always use polarizing filters. Why do so few of the pretty good (4 mg pixel $600 - $1000) digital cameras accept lenses or filters? Maybe I am missing something. Do most people shoot with a digital cameras on bright water without a filter?

Thanks for any help,

John Esler
eslerjjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 22, 2002, 5:25 AM   #2
NHL

eslerjjj

Most of theses Point & Shoot requires an adapter tube accessory or thread extension in order to put on a filter... but it all do-able. That's why I pick the D7(i) also in your price range, but 5Mpixels instead, and come standard with a 49mm thread (that doesn't rotate with the lens). A Polarizer is must for any water shot in my opinion:

PS... You'll also find unless it's an EVF, or SLR, it's practically impossible to judge the effect when the polarizer is adjusted (ie my 990 had a lot of problem when I try to judge it's LCD in bright sunshine), just my 2c...

[Edited on 7-22-2002 by NHL]
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2002, 9:42 AM   #3

Default Interesting......

Hi NHL,

I'll check out the D7(i). I'm still a bit confused by your answer, as most of the "point and shoot" cameras (as you called them), don't have threads in front of the lenses to take filters or adaptors. I find it odd that cameras that list for a grand, and have an amazing amount of feaures and menus for semi-serious photography don't take filters.

Do most digital camera folks just not use them?

PS. That's a beautifull picture. Nice shimmer on the water but still transparency and deep sky color.
eslerjjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2002, 12:06 PM   #4
NHL