Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Nov 13, 2007, 6:12 PM   #1

I am new to the forum and have bought a FZ 18 which so far is way cool. I am a real estate agent and sometimes need a wider angle lens then the 28mm. Panasonic sells one, the DMW-LW55. Does anyone have any experience with these type lenses. I need something that has little to no distortion. Raynox does not advertise as having one yet.
thwim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 14, 2007, 6:27 PM   #2

thwim wrote:
Quote:
I am a real estate agent and sometimes need a wider angle lens then the 28mm. Panasonic sells one, the DMW-LW55.
I do not have a FZ-18; but, I would believe its lens structure is similar to those of FZ-30 and FZ-50. If this assumption holds, the LW55 is a very good one. The Raynox HD6600pro-55 is a good choice; however, its performance is very convincing at corner. You can find a comparison in my FZ-30 user guide.

CK

http://www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/DigiCam

Nikon Coolpix 950/990/995/2500/4500/5700, Panasonic FZ-10/FZ-30 and Canon A95 User Guides

shene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2007, 11:05 PM   #3

The DMW-LW55 is very, very good. I use it with an FZ50 and an FZ8.

Conversion lenses like this do introduce an amount of bent line distortion, but the program PTLens (all of $15 for a license) has a profile for the FZ50 and/or FZ8 with the DMW-LW55. Once applied, images come out very well. With the FZ50, it's the equivalent of 24mm, or 25mm with the FZ8..

Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2007, 7:15 AM   #4

Thank you both very much. I really need someone who has the FZ 18 as the Venus III compensates for the CA and the lens distortion. I don't know how it would do with an add on lens. I would guess the Panasonic lens would be compensated in some form.
Old Nov 15, 2007, 11:56 AM   #5