Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Sep 5, 2003, 2:36 PM   #1

Default Digital Camera Lens Question

Newbie here - with probably a dumb question but........

If I am a 200MM lens - why does that lens act like a 300MM lens on a digital camera?

What does this magnication increase do to the F stop? Make the lens slower??

If I had a 100MM-300MM lens - would that get bumped up by 50% as well??

Thanks
Eric
eriseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 5, 2003, 8:44 PM   #2

I'm not super knowledable about it but perhaps I can point you in the right direction untill someone else gives a more qualified answer. I assume that you are talking about dslr's here, otherwise I have no idea what you are talking about.
What causes the lens to act at a higher magnification is the fact that sensor is smaller compared to the size of film. You basically have a factor that you multiply the lens size by to get the equivalent for your camera. That would mean that a 100mm-300mm lens would get bumped up by 50% if 50% is what corelates to the particular camera. Diffrent dslr cameras use diffrent size sensors so the amount of change will vary from camera to camera.
The smaller the sensor size, the larger the depth of field will be from the same f-stop. You can see this in prosumer cameras that have a substantially larger depth of field from the same f-stop because the sensors are much smaller. As far as exposure I think it is the same but I am not certain on that point.
I hope that makes is a little clearer untill someone more knoledgable responds.
richardh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2003, 9:06 PM   #3

Default Re: Digital Camera Lens Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by eriseman
If I am a 200MM lens - why does that lens act like a 300MM lens on a digital camera?