Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Oct 27, 2003, 4:05 PM   #1

Default Opteka Lenses

Has anyone had any experience with the Opteka Tele and Wide lenses?

I am a newbie to add on lenses and looking for some reasonable lenses, 2.0 -2.5X Tele and .45X - .5X at a reasonable price. Add on lenses in Oz are expensive and hard to get (TCON $200 and WCON $200+). I will be using these lenses on an Olympus C750. I am far from a pro and do not need fantastic reults, just good quality photos. Have tried Digital Optics and discovered they are not what they are purported to be, as I have already posted. What I found with these lenses is the Wide only gave me about .63X and the Tele gives a best of approx. 1.5X - measurements taken from photos. Also with the Tele things that I could see relatively clearly
in the distance with the naked eye would not even appear in the photo, just a blur - tripod and remote used.

Wish I had found this forum before purchasing.

On another note I thought I read somewhere that the lenses on the C740/750 were redesigned and that the C700/C730 lenses would not work correctly on these cameras, is this true? As a number of sellers are selling add on lenses to suit C700 up tp C750.

Hope someone can help.
rbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 27, 2003, 4:29 PM   #2

If you want a good trusty brand, look at Raynox lenses...their 6600Pro WA-Conv has no noticable barrel distortion and it's a .66x (even their .72x has some BD). They also have teleconverters. Also, you can see actual examples of their lenses on the C-750! Check out:

http://www.raynox.co.jp/english/digi...50uz/index.htm

Just click on any picture of the camera for sample images using that particular lens.

Many people in the Oly_C-700 Yahoo Group mentioned in my signature do use this brand if you want to ask them any questions. I'm personally looking at getting Raynox's Macro and SuperMacro lenses.