Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Feb 11, 2011, 9:59 AM   #1

Default Please recommend a lens for close ups

Hi! My husband just bought me a camera Nikon D3000 and it came with a lens 18-55 and this lens is great to point and shoot most pictures (cause I can edit later) but I primarily will take face or portrait shots and want a different lens. I would like recommendations please...I am new to the camera scene. Thank you.
HopesMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 11, 2011, 10:34 AM   #2

For stabilized lenses that will autofocus on your D3000, your choices are limited.

If you're looking for a lens that can do portraiture as well as replace the 18-55 kit lens, Nikon's 16-85 is a good choice. It doesn't have a large aperture, so a blurred background will require a little more work on your part, but in all other respects, it's an excellent choice.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 2:54 PM   #3

G'day HM

You ask about " Please recommend a lens for close ups "
Do you mean close ups of flowers etc?, or do you mean better-larger images of faces from some distance away from them?

I am presuming it's the second ... many people go for the 50-200mm [nikon or sigma] as this lens covers a lot of stuff

Hope this is useful to you
Regards, Phil
Ozzie_Traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 3:08 PM   #4
DSG

Quote:
Originally Posted by HopesMom View Post
Hi! My husband just bought me a camera Nikon D3000 and it came with a lens 18-55 and this lens is great to point and shoot most pictures (cause I can edit later) but I primarily will take face or portrait shots and want a different lens. I would like recommendations please...I am new to the camera scene. Thank you.
???...This makes no sense to me because in your title you asked for a close up lens recomendation and now your saying you want a different lens....I dont see why you cant get close ups with your zoom?