Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Feb 26, 2004, 6:25 AM   #1

Default How do they work?

I am looking at buying the Canon Powershot Pro1 (and the add-on lenses) when it comes out, but so far I have only had little pocket cameras so I have no experience with add-on lenses. So I have a few questions:

Do any of the lenses (telephoto, macro and fish-eye) result in a circular photo, requiring software to straighten it out?

Can I combine a telephoto lens with the camera's built in optical zoom both at the same time? (I assume a camera with 7x optical zoom and an add-on telephoto lens should be able to zoom to 7 times the capability of the telephoto lens' own magnification?)

How does an add-on macro lens work in comparison to a camera's own macro mode (in terms of distance between the lens and the subject, and amount of detail) ? The Powershot Pro1 has a macro mode of about 10cm, and a super-macro mode of 3cm, yet the super-macro mode reduces the image size from 8mp to 5mp. So if I was to attach the add-on macro lens, would I still be able to get 8mp close-ups with even better magnification than the 5mp super-macro mode? Does a macro lens mean better magnification from a greater distance?

By the way, when can we expect the full review of the Pro1? I'm wetting myself in anticipation....
sTeVEn_au is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 26, 2004, 5:17 PM   #2

Default Re: How do they work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sTeVEn_au
I am looking at buying the Canon Powershot Pro1 (and the add-on lenses) when it comes out, but so far I have only had little pocket cameras so I have no experience with add-on lenses. So I have a few questions:

Do any of the lenses (telephoto, macro and fish-eye) result in a circular photo, requiring software to straighten it out?