Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Apr 1, 2004, 6:13 AM   #1

Default Lens Kit

I have a Coolpix 5400 and seen this kit of a telephoto and wide angle lens offered on ebay and was wondering if anyone would know if these are any good or not. I'm new to the digital camera that can accept different lens and I don't want to throw money away. Thanks.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=30067
Markd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 4, 2004, 8:34 AM   #2

The seller is right about one thing. These lenses are sold under diffrent names on ebay and they are all the same, junk! You can find other lenses like tiffen, canon, nikon, olympus etc. on ebay too so his statment that all lenses on ebay are the same is false. Stay away from these cheap lenses like digital optics and titanium. They are low quality. I use a canon so I am not sure what is best for your camera. You can more than likley use smaller, and therefor cheaper glass than I can.
richardh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2004, 10:36 AM   #3

Is there a reliable place to get better quality lenes at a decent price?
Markd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2004, 5:35 AM   #4

If you do not want to throw your money away, my advice is to be patient and not in a rush to buy. Unfortunatlly, I am a canon user. I can give some recomendations as far as good lenses, but franklly, my camera usally requires larger (and therefore more expensive lenses than many nikons usally do). I would not discount ebay. I would just discount this brand of lens (which is actually sold under several diffrent names). A good economy lens is the tiffen megaplus (for telephoto anyway). There is a 37mm and a 43mm. The 37mm should work fine with your camera. b h photo is a reliable source for this and other lenses.
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/