Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old May 5, 2004, 8:00 PM   #1

I have purchased a Canon Powershot S1 IS camera as well as a UV Haze filter and a Circular Polarizing Filter. Which order should these filters attach? Can they both be used at the same time?

About the polarizing filter it says that one ought to increase the F stop by 2. What does that mean? Will my camera automatically adjust for that filter when it is set on AUTO? I am a novice to digital cameras and am not sure about these questions. Any help would be appreciated!
danielswiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 5, 2004, 8:36 PM   #2

As far as the filter order, I don't know if it matters. Half of me says put the cheapest one on front so if you accidentally bump it on something it damages the less expensive one. The other half of me says put the polarizing one on front because the polarizer works based on the direction the light enters the filter and having another filter in front might change the direction of the light. I'm not sure though.

Second question - your camera will automatically adjust the exposure. It meters based on what is coming through the lens "TTL"

A polarizer will be most pronounced at 90 degrees to the light source - such as when the sun is to the left or right but it will also cut glare straight ahead in reflections.
LTBerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2004, 8:40 PM   #3

danielswiss wrote:
Quote:
I have purchased a Canon Powershot S1 IS camera as well as a UV Haze filter and a Circular Polarizing Filter. Which order should these filters attach? Can they both be used at the same time?
Remove your UV before mounting the polarizer to get better results and avoid wignetting.

danielswiss wrote:
Quote: