Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Jun 10, 2004, 10:59 PM   #1

First I want to say thank you all for helping make some relatively informed decisions on my new camera purchase. Just reading these forums helped greatly. Not to mention Steve and his great reviews.

I finally ended up with a Z2, I liked the colors it produced (very subjective in my opinion), the large zoom, they way it felt, and low price.

Being that I'm a novice at digital photography and on a budget, I was looking at some lenses and filters on Ebay. You can get a 2x tele (in a box shown marked as 'digital optics'), a .5 w/a (same type box), 3 piece filter kit, and some other crap for like $100. Are these things that cheap or is the product just sub par and not worth money?

If they are just crap, can you recommend a brand?

Thanks again,

mike

mabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 11, 2004, 10:14 AM   #2

Hey Mike - congrats on your purchase of the Z2. The answer to your question is 'Yes, they can be that cheap', but when it comes to quality glass you usually get what you pay for. I posted the following several weeks ago in response to a question re: inexpensive filters -

"if you buy a brand name camera with a quality glass lens and then put a marginal quality filter or add on lens in front - yougreatly reduce the overall quality of the photo.Example - put a piece of plasticwrap over a window and take a look through.With filters and lenses obviously the result is not nearly thatdramatic but it makes my point. (NOTE: Quality is in the eye of the beholder. What one photographer thinks is great another may think is less than satisfactory.)

The URL below is a 'user posting' site and will give you some idea of what other buyers think about the lens they have purchased.

http://webpages.charter.net/bbiggers...on_lenses.html