Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Jul 20, 2004, 10:50 AM   #1

Hi,

I am a complete beginner to the world of photography but since I received a Minolta Dimage Z1 for my birthday (thanks to the reviews on this site!) I am becoming more and more interested.

Although I have tried to find some generic advice/information about using extra lenses I currently can't see any, and so far all the advice seems to be on specific camera/lens combinations.

Can someone tell me what effect adding a tele-photo lens would do to my images and similarly for wide angle lenses? I have an idea but I'm not really sure and don't want to buy anything that I don't really understand. So far I haven't really felt limited by the size of photos my Z1 can take (in terms of landscapes) so I am curious as to what extra a wide angle lens might add - a before/after shot of the same scene might help! Secondly, although I think the 10x zoom of the Z1 is great I can imagine a time where it may still not be quite enough, such as on safari!

Apologies if this is "too newbie" but I couldn't think of anywhere else to post it!

Finally, if anyone could recommend any decent wide angle or telephoto lenses for the Dimage Z1 that are available in the UK I would really appreciate it for future reference. A spectrum of prices might be handy too!

Regards

David
David_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 21, 2004, 3:26 AM   #2

Well, there are good add-on lenses, and bad ones.

Usually I recomend the Raynox lenses because they are good and they tend to work well with long zoom cameras (i.e. 37-370mm).

There are cheaper ones out there (ones with names like Digital Optics, Crystal Optics) that should be avoided.

Unfortunately Raynox doesn't show images on your particular camera, but they do show them on the Olympus C-750 (another 10x zoom camera) if you want to see with and withouts:
http://www.raynox.co.jp/comparison/d...omp_c750uz.htm