Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Sep 1, 2004, 1:05 AM   #1

I'm on a very fixed budget & need advice on buying additional items for Nikon's Coolpix 5700.

My1st question isabout the difference in lens. My current lens is F=8.9-71.2 mm (35-mm [135] camera format equivalent: 35 - 280 mm). Which I have no idea what that means... I'm just a growing photographer. LOL

Nikon's Wide Conversion Lens widens visual perspective to approximately the equivalent of a 28mm lens on a 35mm camera. And their Tele-Converter Lens is 420mm .

So is that a really big difference than the orig. lens & would I be happy with the results? What I'm getting at, is it even worth the money to purchase such lens?

What about alternative makers of accessories for the 5700? Is there anything out that's cheaper & worth buying? Anywhere from lens-filters? Are Nikon's lens really that much better? Will the other ones work?

How about the Raynox lens?

I've been real pleased with the Coolpix 5700 so far. I especially enjoy taking telephoto & macro shots. I would like to expand the abilities of this camera especially in these areas.

I'm not a pro, but a novice & this camera has allowed me to learn so much that I otherwise never couldn't afford to do. Would you recommend investing a lot of money in a camera like this?

I can't see being able to afford, or even need, a pro SLR in the near future.

Thanks again for eveything!

Zanne

stater is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 1, 2004, 8:05 AM   #2

Since you mentioned Raynox, did you check out the Raynox site? They show what their lenses look like, and show examples of pictures with and without the lens on the camera so you can see the difference and give you an idea of what the add-on lens can do that the camera alone can't (click on the lens for sample photos):
http://www.raynox.co.jp/english/digital/egnikon5700.htm