Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Sep 11, 2004, 11:27 AM   #1

Greetings;

This is something that has been confusing me a bit... When I discuss lenses with my SLR friends, they always refer to the focal length. (for example using a 15-30mm lens for macro shots.) I do understand the basic principals here (I think)

Among digital P&S users, the same basic discussion involves magnification factors instead. (for example a 1.7x zoom lens, or a0.7 wide angle) As a beginner, I do find the latter to be a little easier to understand, but I also understand that these terms are far less precise in terms of the science of camera optics.

My camera, a Kodak dx6490 has a primary lens (is that the term?) that has a 35mm equivalent of 38-380mm. There is no way of knowing, outside of the vaguest of guesses, what my actual focal length is for any given zoom. If I add a zoom or wide angle to the equation... I'm lost... (my best guess X 1.7 = your best guess)

I'd like to undertand what my camera is doing, so I can understand what it is I need to do to move forward in my photgraphic education.

My question is firstly, why is there a difference in the terms of expression between my camera and a SLR/DSLR?

Secondly, Is there some form of "conversion chart" that would help to bridge the gap between the terminology?

Thirdly, though I'd like to understand lenses/focal lengths more, do I need this knowledge to become a better photographer?

Lastly, because I seem to be dwelling on a subject that digital P&S users apparently don't need to know, do I have the wrong camera? I love my 6490. It's my first good camera. Was it a bad choice for me?

Regards,

Tom, confused on Point Pelee, Canada
Tom Overton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 11, 2004, 1:50 PM   #2

With (most) SLRs you can remove the lens and pop on another one...you might have a 35-105mm that came with the camera, and buy a 100-300mm for more tele.