Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Oct 10, 2004, 5:35 AM   #1

I have been looking at the posts about subj. but miss any actual experience by the forum users. I have never used additional lenses before so here comes the newbie questions:

1. I took a look at Raynox lenses and they seem to be of goodquality. True?

2. On Raynox www it is stated that the Canon adapter ring (LAH-DC10) is to be used for the lenses. I would prefer a grey ring in same colour as the camera itself. Does anyone know where to get a grey ring? (Lensmate has one. Someone know if the quality is ok?)

I'm especially looking for a macro lens and a tele lens + wide angle lens later on.

3. I saw the Raynox DCR-250 Macro lensat Lensmate ($55.95) and read the review of the macro lenses on their site.Has anyone tried it? And maybe have some pics?

4. Looking at the Raynox DCR-2020 and 1540 and the price difference: approximately $70 I wonder if I should go for the "big" one or is it overkill with a tele lens with x2.2?

I really would like to know your experiences and see photo examples with the S1. I should state that I have picked out Raynox because of thegenerally speaking good reputation they have. But other brands are more than welcome.
Henrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 11, 2004, 2:07 AM   #2

Many Olympus C-7xx users (same 38-380mm focal length) like the Raynox lenses...I personally use the DCR-6600Pro .66x lens on my Olympus C-700 and found it VERY good, even better than a Canon .7x I used.

Unfortunately the Canon S1 is a newer camera so there's limited amount of third party accessories available right now. I know on my Olympus, as the lens accessories and filters are all black the black tube actually looks better than the chrome.

I personally use diopter lenses (they look like filters) for closeup photography as they were cheaper.