Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Oct 30, 2005, 8:50 AM   #1

Hello,
I am new to photography and recently purchased a Kodak DX6490. I have become quite interested in taking macro shots. I've read several articles in which the lens is reversed to get even closer.I purchased a filter adapter for my camera which has a 52mm thread.I also purchased a reversing ring with 52mm male threads on both sides.I'm not real sure what kind of lens I need. Does my camera havingmacro capability negate my being able to put a reversed lens on it? Any help would be great!!
Thanks, Wayne

waynespixels is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 30, 2005, 4:30 PM   #2

See this long thread for the lens reversal technique: http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=50 It only touches upon the technical issuesrather than photographic techniques. More details can be found on my Canon A95 Info Page: http://www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/DigiCam

Since you have had a 52-52mm macro coupler, what you need is a good SLR lens, normally and preferably a 55mm. If you use a 49mm normal lens, step rings will be needed. Normally, the SLR lens is used wide open to get more light. Of course, you may stop down the normal lens a little; however, in doing so could get you vignetting. Some normal lens may not be flat field, which means the image could be soft to very soft off-center. Good normal lenses are usually not expensive. For example, a gray marketNikon 50mm f/1.8 is about $100 and could be cheaper on eBay.

CK
shene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 4:34 PM   #3

Before you spend lots of money, try adapting an objective lens from a pair of garage sale binoculars. Here are some samples. When you get to the macro pictures, be sure to click on 'original'. -

http://www.pbase.com/embe/canon_s1_is

<A HREF-"http://www.pbase.com/embe/canon_s1_is"/A>Or click here
Herb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2005, 4:54 PM   #4

Hi,