Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Add-On Lenses

Old Dec 30, 2005, 12:57 AM   #1

Default Question with Raynox DCR-250 macro lens

I am looking for a macro lense for my Fuji 5200 digital camera. It has a 55mm thread lense on it. I am new to camera so I dont know what brand to trust but a lot of people say Raynox are good lense. I realized that there are not many lense that fits a 55mm thread unless if it is universal or kockoff.

The one that I did find was the raynox dcr-250 for about $60 at bhphotovideo.com
Since I cant post a link to it I will type what it says because I have a question with that statement.

"The DCR-250 Super Macro lense obtains the maximum macro magification power with the camera lense SET AT THE MOST TELEPHOTO ZOOM POSISTION......"

Does that mean that the only way the lense will work at its best or work at all if I have the lense ZOOMED all the way out to 10x? Will it work if I am up close to the subject, or do I have to be far away?

superakuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 30, 2005, 4:21 AM   #2

I use a DCR250 on a Canon S1 IS. Yes, works best with the lens zoomed out. It will focus close in with the lens at wide angle, but your depth of focus is tiny. At full zoom you will probably be working several inches to maybe 9 inches out from the subject. It makes it easier to get a good orientation to the subject and also is a better distance if you use the flash.

It is a strange lens and has taken a lot of patience to get used to. Any macro that is an add-on is going to be like that. I have taken a few good photos with it, but don't take it out of the case as often as I thought I would.
sedges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2005, 11:34 AM   #3

If you dont mind can you post up some pictures of what you took, I know its a different camera then what I have.