Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Animal & Pet Photos

Old Feb 11, 2010, 2:20 PM   #1

Default Serious Baja

Brought home my new lens 35mm f/1.8 and was playing with it inside in low light. I need to work with it a lot more. All of my photos so far have a focal point and a lot of blur around the edges. I am a newbie so if you can give me quick fix (maybe I am just too close).

Here is my Parsons Jack Russell - Baja - and his serious face.
Attached Images

Breanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 11, 2010, 3:27 PM   #2

Location: Hebron, Kentucky (northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati):KCVG

Breana, this image was taken at f/1.8 which typically would produce a very shallow depth of field, even for a 35mm focal length. This explains why the eyes are in focus and the snout and ears are not. I imagine if you use smaller apertures such as f/4 - 4/8 you will find more of the image to be in focus. Be careful that at smaller apertures you will need to slow your shutter speed which may result in camera shake (use a tripod) or motion blur (shoot a still subject). Also, you might want to conduct a focus test using a chart such as http://focustestchart.com/focus21.pdf

If regardless of aperture your images are still blurred, then you may have a lens that has a calibration issue in which case I'd return it for a replacement.
I have not used the 35mm f/1.8 and cannot speak to its characteristics, but the above general tests should help!

Let's see more images. . .

Jehan
Wingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2010, 4:22 PM   #3

Thank you for the help. I put a few more under landscape (not properly placed they should be under nature). They show some of the same issues. Clear focal point and blurry edges. These were taken outside at sunset.

I believe it is an aperature issue because I was shooting everything at 1.8-2.8
yesterday at a pretty low shutter speed. I do need a tripod (next purchase).