Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Animal & Pet Photos

Old Jan 26, 2012, 3:19 PM   #1

Default Playful labs/advice wanted

Hei hei, just wanted to share some shots of black labs. I am a beginner and these are some of the first shots that i took of dogs in action. I would kindly appreciate any advice i could get on shoting dogs in motion and portraits of dogs. I wasnt sure if i should post in here or in the photo critique section but i figured to put dogs among other dogs hehe. I have a very large supply of dog models as i work with dogs, breed them, and run a dog hotel, so i would really like to get good at taking nice pictures of them and maybe even get something worth printing out. These photos are unedited out of the camera (just resized).

Sasha
Attached Images

sasaboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 26, 2012, 4:32 PM   #2

I love #3-4 but in both cases, I think the dog on the right could use some sharpening. The eyes on the dog on the left are clear and sharp while the one on the left are a bit fuzzy but still nice photos.
Outhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2012, 5:16 AM   #3

Thanks. At this point everything i do is experimenting. Im still learning the camera controls so im slow to make changes and its not like the dogs will be still and wait for me hehe.

Any tips on shooting in the snow? like how to get enough light on the subject without overexposing the snow?

Also regarding image stabilization, i know its not needed when shooting moving subjects and using high shutter speeds but does that mean that it should be turned off? does it have any effect on camera operation with high shutter speeds? i am hand holding a camera and even though dogs are moving most of the time, sometimes they stop and pose for me so im not sure if IS should be on or off..

Last edited by sasaboss; Jan 28, 2012 at 7:49 AM.
Old Jan 29, 2012, 9:03 AM   #4