Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Animal & Pet Photos

Old Feb 12, 2004, 4:31 PM   #1

Default Some cat pictures

I guess I should have read bcoultry's post before taking the pictures, oh well.
Just a couple words of warning. I am very new to photography in general. I have just recently gotten a Panasonic DMC-FZ10 (which I used to take the pictures) and that is the first digital camera that I have used that has full manual settings, so I still haven't quite learned all the features.

Both were taken handheld (stabilization on, mode 2 for those people who care) in rather dim lighting and the built in flash was on. Both shots are F4.6, 1/60, and ISO50. They were both taken at about 160mm (in 35mm equiv). I had to zoom in because if I moved closer to the subject I would: A. annoy the cat. And B. make the lense block a bit of the flash

They are completely unedited (except for resizing).

http://www.6feettogo.com/tempphotos/Cat2.JPG (for slightly larger ones, but not full size)
And another one

http://www.6feettogo.com/tempphotos/Cat.JPG (for slightly larger ones, but not full size)

I was taking a lot of pictures, hence the reason the cat's paw is over its eyes. I try moving the cat around a bit, but each time it would insist that its paw was over its eyes.

Tell me what you think of them, and which one is better (be as honest as you want). And any suggestions that will make it better?
blinblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 12, 2004, 6:27 PM   #2

I prefer the second one, purely because the nose is uncovered, the first one looks a little chaotic with the rear paws up under the chin like that.

On the other hand, the second one loses focus a little towards the top of the picture...

Both are lovely shots in my opinion..
PlatinumWeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2004, 7:04 PM   #3

I prefer the second photo also because of the simplicity of line and the way it all leads to that little pink nose.