Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Batteries or Power Packs

Old Jan 6, 2007, 2:41 AM   #1

hi

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Can anybody tell me what is the average life of a NiMH cell. I have been using these in my W1 sony since 2004 and now these are not supporting more than a few snaps, particularly with Flash ON.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Is this a regular case or something to do with my W1 camera. With the same reason I plan to go for S3 IS (for better power management) rather than H5 using the same 2 cells only!

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Again when we can expect S4 coming out?

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Regds,

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"mk
mohkum is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 6, 2007, 2:52 AM   #2

What do you have against the H5 ?

With a good set of 2700 batteries you should easily get 250-350 shots, and thats with a nice 3in screen vs the tiddly screen on the S3.

Bring 2 extra batteries to equal the Canons 4 and you easily get 500-700 shots, and that is more than the Canon can manage..
Sintares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2007, 9:11 AM   #3

hi

I wanted to know approx. how many total snaps can be taken by using one set of cells(through out its life!)

These cells have an average life, if I am correct. I have used mine for about two half years and presently not giving the normal life. I must have taken more than 2500 snaps.

Is thisthe normal life perriod for these NiMH cells?

Mk
Old Jan 6, 2007, 9:33 AM   #4
blr

The life of NiMH cells depends on several factors in order of importance:

1. Charging

2.Quality and capacity of the cells

3. Usage and storage conditions

When we talk about NiMH it is better to talk about the so-called cycle life, i.e. the number of charge/discharge cycles before the capacity of the cell is decreased significantly (to approximately 80% of its initial value)