Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Batteries or Power Packs

Old Jan 23, 2007, 8:52 AM   #1

Wanted to get some feedback from you out there. i am a professional photogrpaher and have been using rechargable betteries but now they come out with a 15 minute charger. From what the people at best buy have told me that you only charge the betteries for 15 minutes and you have to remove them after 15 minutes or else it destroys the batteries.

My question to all of you is that I know they have higher rated batteries 2500 mah even as high as 2650. Now when looking for a charger do you have to get a charger for the higher rated batteries or as long as the you charge all the same ratting battery together it does not matter. I purchased the Durcell 15 min but have not used it yet. Wanted to get feedback from you and see if there might be something better out there.

Howard

hbaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 23, 2007, 11:56 AM   #2

Assuming you're talking about NiMH batteries here, I'm sorry to be the bearer of bad news but that 15minute charger more than likely junk. NiMH is a more complex beast to charge than the old NiCad batteries and requires some fairly well engineered circuitry to accurately detect the maximum charge point. Failing to detect this point tends to lead to two possible outcomes a overcharged and very warm battery or a battery that is cut off before reaching its maximum charge potential. Keep in mind heat rapidly destroys NiMH cells lowering both their capacity and potential lifespan in charge/discharge cycles and you can probably guess why the Best Buy guys say pull those batteries out on 15mins... then comes another problem, as those batteries start losing their capacity the full charge point will take less time to reach and then spend a longer time being overcharged and heated. All in all you end up with a recipie for dead batteries no matter how you look at it.