Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Batteries or Power Packs

Old Sep 8, 2003, 1:45 PM   #1

Default Battery Suggestion for Nikon D100??

Hi All,
New to digital photography and am buying a Nikon D100. Amongst all of the peripheral junk to buy (Mem cards, readers, etc), I need to figure out what kind of battery to buy?

Rechargeable? NIMH? Lithium? Battery packs? AC Adapter?

What will I need? What is hype? What will I never use (AC Adapter?) ?

Not knowing how much choice the D100 will suck up, I would appreciate some guidance as to what I should buy. I want to do this one time and try to do it right (though cash is king!).

I take about 100 pictures a month - so I am not a pro - though the designated family picture taker......

Thanks all
Eric
eriseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 8, 2003, 10:18 PM   #2

If you only take 100 a month, then you probably don't need anything beyond the battery it comes with. The battery life on that thing is amazing. I would not go for an external battery pack or the grip (which can hold AA batteries) unless you want its other features (more buttons, portrate shutter button, larger feel - fits in large hands better.)

If you really wanted to be careful, you could get another battery, just like the one it came with (the EN-EL3, I believe.) But I'm not sure you really need it.

You might want to ask this in the Nikon DSLR forum as well.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2003, 10:03 PM   #3

You can buy a Nikon original EN-EL3 or a Power 2000 EN-EL3 compatible. Other manufacturers have similar batteries, but Power 2000 seems to have the only one rated at 1500mAh compared to all others at 1400mAh, including Nikon's own. I plan on getting this to try out, as in some situations I do end up needing spares, but do not want the added weight of the grip. The EN-EL3 lasts a long time, and is not affected by the cold nearly as much as NiMH's.