Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Batteries or Power Packs

Old Jan 29, 2004, 12:20 PM   #1

Default NiMh battery usage

I'm pretty new to using NiMh batteries. I asked my local reatiler for some tips and the one thing suggested strongly was to make sure yo use thse batteries regularly. If I keep them lying around and used them let us say to click just 10-15 pics a month, this would shorten the lives of the batteies!
Now, is this really true???
virsingh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 29, 2004, 12:32 PM   #2

NiHm batteries will lose their charge while they are in storage. If I remember, the lost is about 2 percent per day.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2004, 11:14 PM   #3

What the guy was trying to say is that apart from losing their char NiMh batteries will also shorten their lives, i.e., their ability to be charged again.
virsingh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2004, 6:17 PM   #4

The way people here hammer their Nimh's in fast chargers until they cook, I wouldn't worry about it, after a couple of years hard use like this if they are AA- just throw away.

In your case with infrequent use I'd say the biggest problem is picking up the camera when you most need it and finding little or no juice in the camera batts or the spare set in the bag. As Gib says - 2% is 2%!

What I do is leave 2 sets of batts on permanent trickle charge. Most fast chargers of the Maha type do this at the end of charge. I always keep a set of Alkalines in the camera. These are useless for powering up but they have much lower self discharge and will keep your camera user settings alive for months. VOX
voxmagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2004, 6:34 PM   #5

virsingh77