Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Batteries or Power Packs

Old Aug 27, 2004, 8:30 PM   #1

For the FZ20 camera, can you buy extra batteries? I know this is probably an elementary question, but I want to be able to use one battery, and keep another on hand and charging (or maybe even 3 sets all together). Is that a reasonable thing to do? I have never used re-chargable batteries before. So, if you get a battery with the camera, where do you buy extra ones? Thank you.
LisaMarie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 20, 2004, 8:51 AM   #2

try http://www.tigerdirect.com
kheiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2004, 3:47 PM   #3

I'm hoping the fz20 uses the same batteries as the fz10, that way when I get my new fz20 I can use the same batteries. I keep 3 extra at all times for the fz10. Here's my source.

http://store.yahoo.com/eagleimports/dmw-bm7.html

Suzan
ImKayd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2004, 1:33 PM   #4

From what I have read, the FZ1, FZ3, FZ10, FZ15 and FZ20 all use the same battery. You should be able to use your old battery. You will also be able to use the DC power cord from your FZ10 to power theFZ20. The battery charger supplied with the FZ20 does not have a DC power cord, so it can't be used to directly power the camera.
propwash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2004, 6:51 PM   #5
GWR

Further to a question I've asked on this forum, I just tried to see if a generic FZ10 battery will fit into an FZ20... and it won't. You can't quite push it all the way in, so the little clip that automatically engages and locks the proper FZ20 battery into place doesn't work with the FZ10 battery, even though the two types of batteries look physically identical. It's only amillimetre or two out, but I don't want to try and force it in case it damages the contacts inside the camera body.