Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Batteries or Power Packs

Old Mar 29, 2006, 1:26 AM   #1
mrb

I'm new to all this, and I have ordered a Canon S2. I'm now looking at NiMH batteries and chargers. Thomas Distributing has a Maha 204F combo including (4) 2500mAH batteries for $30. I have seen some chargers that charge each cell on an independent curcuit, such as the Maha 401FS. Is this feature worth the extra $$?

Steve and some others seem to like Maha. Any other brands recommended? I don't need advanced features, just something that will fully charge the cells without damage. Also something small so that I can travel with it occasionally.

Finally, any recommendations on batteries?

Thank You
mrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 29, 2006, 1:43 AM   #2
E.T

Non-independent charging propably doesn't damage cells but it definitely don't charge them all full if they have differing capacities. (like it is case always)

Here's some info about batteries:
http://www.imaging-resource.com/ACCS/BATTS/BATTS.HTM

Sanyos are generally considered as one of the best so at least those are good ones.

But those "budget priced" ambigue brand cells of supermarkets can have real lousy quality so at least try to stay away from those.
E.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2006, 6:50 PM   #3

I am using the Maha 204 charger and the powerex 2500's...just great for me...I have been buying maha from thomas distributing...the 2500's are great.
prhamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2006, 7:11 PM   #4
mrb

Well, I have run a few sets of alkalines through my new S2 already, and never decided on which NiMH batteries and charger to buy! After some research, I have been leaning toward the Maha 401FS.