Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Batteries or Power Packs

Old Jun 17, 2006, 3:58 AM   #1

I read that the best way to break in a lithium ion (and other rechargables)
is to fully charge and recharge the battery 2 to 4 cycles.
same procedure is recommended for awakening a battery after long idle.
I oun an olympus c-770camera, with LI-10B batterries, butthe original charger can only charge.
Can someone advise please
Thanks shmueli

shmueli1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 17, 2006, 7:26 AM   #2
rey

I would follow the manufacturer's suggestion instead of rumors. Batteries can catch fire and/or explode, so I wouldn't play with it beyond what's recommended.
rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2006, 9:04 AM   #3
Administrator

Well, if you use the camera until you get a low battery indication, you're discharging the battery. ;-)

I'm no expert, but you do have to be careful not to discharge a battery too far from what I've read. I personally wouldn't try doing it (other than normal use in the device it's designed for, so that it stops draining it once the voltage drops to a predetermined level).

We've got a few members that know a lot about batteries (I'm not one of them) that could probably give you pros and cons.

I'll move this thread to our Batteries or Power Packs Forum, where it will likely get better responses.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2006, 4:29 PM   #4

Hello Shmueli,

NiMh and NiCd batteries will often increase in capacity and performance over the first few charge/discharge cycles, but not by a large amount. In very demanding applications it makes sense to condition and break in the batteries, but this is usually not necessary for camera use.