Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 1, 2006, 7:56 PM   #1

Hi:

I'm currently using a Panasonic/Lumix DMC-FZ20 to do hobbyist sports photography, mostly for the local high school (football, soccer, field hockey, etc). I'm not a professional but I usually get some decent pictures that I share with the players and parents. The FZ20 is adequate during a sunny day but the picture quality degrades at low light situations when itscloudyor during night games under stadium lighting.

I have an opportunity to purchase a used Canon 5D SLRfrom a professional photographer who is upgrading his personal cameras. He mostly does weddings and modeling gigs so the camera is in very good condition. I could never afford to buy a new 5D but he's offering me a good price for his used model.

My question to all of you is, has anyone used the 5D for sports or action photography and, if so, what have beenyour experiences? He's including the stock lens but I'm assuming that I'll have to upgrade to a decent zoom model, probably 300mm or up. Any feedback is appreciated.

CotaG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 1, 2006, 8:47 PM   #2

I should point out first that the lens is going to be the most deciding factor when it comes the low light. Of course you want a camera capable of high ISO to assist in getting your shutter speed up while keeping noise low. Any of the Canon DSLR will do that. The 5D however only does 3fps continuous so its not a good choice. You would be much better off with a 20D or 30D that will do 5fps.