Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 2, 2006, 12:48 PM   #1

This is my first time posting in this area so I do appreciate any advice.

I am thinking of purchasing a Canon Rebel Digital Camera. I currently do not have a digital SLR but was wondering if a Digital Rebel Camera can accomodate older lenses from a Yashica SLR camera? I do not know if new digital cameras require news lenses or not? If anybody can help me out, thanks!!!

I currently have a Panasonic FZ30 and luv it but was just looking into other options!

annie57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 2, 2006, 11:30 PM   #2

The only lenses that the Rebel will take are lenses with the EOS (FD) lens mount.
So I don't believe they will take any lenses form a Yashica SLR camera.

And Canon is rather tight about the design of their lens mount (even Sigma, who sells lenses for their cameras, had to reverse engineer the mount protocols) I don't believe there is even a viable adapter for Nikon lenses so I wouldn't expect one for other brands.

Sorry.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 5:35 AM   #3
NHL

Eric, the FD is Canon's mechanical mount... Only the EF electronic mount will fit the EOS series
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 8:25 AM   #4

thanks for the information. I beleive that I will have to start from scatch with the digital SLR and lenses.
Old Oct 13, 2006, 11:04 PM   #5