Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 20, 2006, 6:59 AM   #1

First post here. I have a lot of 35mm SLR experience, but the Rebel XT 350D body I just ordered is my first digital SLR. I work for a real estate company and occassionaly take some of the shots of the residential listings. Most are full house shots taken from about 50 feet, typical real estate magazine photos, but sometimes I'll need to get some closeup detail shots and maybe some portraits. Previously I was using a "prosumer" level 12x zoom camera. I don't need a true wide angle lens as I don't do the "glamour" interior shots. I have a very limited budget and I want my first lens to be the best "all round performer" possible. I'm thnking maybe one of the Sigma lenses, perhaps 70-200? Any recommendations?
FaciaBrut is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 20, 2006, 7:26 AM   #2

Hi FaciaBrut, and welcome to this section of the forums. I also have the Canon 350D and 4 lenses.

A quick question or two? Do you have the kit lens (18-55mm lens)?

Because if you need house shots, I'm not sure a 70-200mm lens will give you the wide angle you need, EVEN at 50 feet (that's about 15 metres) to capture the whole house or even a good impression of the house and it's surroundings. Because you said most are "full house shots taken at 50 feet".

Remember also that a Canon Rebel Xt / 350D will increase the focal length equivalent by 1.6x (that is 70mm will be around 112mm in 35mm equivalent and I'm not expert but I think that isn't going to get you more than a PART of the house at 50 feet).

The 70-200mm won't be useful for ANYTHING interior (apart from closeups of doors, door handles, etc!)