Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 20, 2006, 8:32 PM   #1

I am an amateur photographer in the process of buying a Canon 30D and had originally packaged it with the Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM Autofocus Lens and the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM Autofocus Lens packaged with all the trimmings. After talking to the sales agent for some time, however, he pushed me towards the *NEW* Sigma 24-135mm f/2.8-4.5 Aspherical IF SLD Autofocus Lens. I can find product reviews for older models of Sigma lenses with the same specs and quite frankly they didn't rate well, although, considering the price that this lens is put at I feel that it must be significantly better? The original Sigma 24-135mm f/2.8-4.5 Lens goes for just a few hundred while this *New* version is apparently worth $1,399 according to their site.

http://www.expresscameras.com/prodetails.asp?prodid=8916&start=1

Basically, what I would like to know is if anyone has used this newer version of this Sigma lens and if they feel that it lives up to the hype that the sales guy was putting forth, or if I should revert back to my original feelings and get the Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM Autofocus Lens or perhaps the Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Autofocus Lens, even though either of these cost less according to the same site?