Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 4, 2006, 3:34 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
soliz39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 204
Default

A while back i wrote that I had some front focusing issues with my 30D. Did some in home testing and posted the results.

After doing some in house R&D i was not 100% happy with the results so i sent it in to Canon sincethe camerais still under warranty. Well here are photos of the cameras focusing after i got it back. All i can think is that this has got to be a joke. it came back worse than when i shipped it to them!!


This first pic is an autofocus pic100% crop



Attached Images
 
soliz39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 4, 2006, 3:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
soliz39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 204
Default

Manual focus same settings 100% crop
Attached Images
 
soliz39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2006, 3:36 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
soliz39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 204
Default

Am i suppose to believe that both these photos fall within Canon's acceptable specs?

That's crazy. Or am i expecting too much from the Autofocus capabilities?
soliz39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2006, 10:56 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 16
Default

You should be getting tack sharp photos of text.

I did have some problems with mine (30d) but it turned out to be the lens that was in need of adjustment.



stellgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2006, 7:42 AM   #5
NHL
Senior Member
 
NHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 39.18776, -77.311353333333
Posts: 11,547
Default

stellgar wrote:
Quote:
I did have some problems with mine (30d) but it turned out to be the lens that was in need of adjustment.
How can it be the lens in this situation?



soliz39 did get a tack sharp image of the text in manual focus mode as the above 100% crops illustrated... through the same lens!

-> The projected image clearly took two different paths (and lenghts):
1. The viewfinder path is equal to the image sensor path
2. The AF sensor path is longer(or shorter) than the viewfinder path and image sensor paths
http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/view_topic.php?id=106196&forum_id=65

IMO someone botched this alignment in the camera!!!

NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2006, 11:34 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 16
Default

At the time I received my 30D I still had my 20D I swapped lenses and the old lens worked fine on 30D and the new lens off the 30D was inaccurate on the 20D.
My guess was that the camera and lens were in miscommunication and since the new lens was out of focus with both cameras and the old lens did fine. Hence I concluded that it was most likely the new lens, both lenses were the 18-55 kit.

Could be wrong ……wouldn't be the first time.
Good Luck.
stellgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2006, 3:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
soliz39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 204
Default

I'm currently waiting for Canon to ship me a "repeat repair" sheet to ship my camera back again. Canon repair says they'll have multiple people confirm the repair this time. Kinda lax in my opinion to let this go back out like this in the first place. I got the same results with 3 lenses. So I'm guessing it's the camera. Plus the camera was taking good photos with the same lenses when i first received the camera.

Just hate losing the camera for 2-3 weeks at a time. But i guess if it's under warranty might as welll send it back and do it right. :sad:
soliz39 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:10 PM.