Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Nov 10, 2006, 1:47 PM   #1

I am a serious amateur looking to switch to a Canon camera. I have researched the5D and the 1D Mark II N. I am looking for adviceas to which camera to purchase. I am doinga lot ofportrait and fashion shoots in a studio as well as outdoors. I am also interested in sports action shots and general outdoorstreet scenes and nature photography.I have a lot of my images blown up to 16x20 or larger.
countryboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 10, 2006, 4:49 PM   #2

You need to ask this on the Canon forum.

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/view_forum.php?id=37
cope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2006, 1:06 AM   #3

Both of these are great cameras, I have the 5D and don't regret it at all. We like the full frame and 12MP, and the camera is fast enough. The one thing I wish it had is some weather sealing like the 1 series, but it they weather sealed it that would also add to the price. I see it as Canon's way of keeping the two apart. If a full frame sensor is something you want, then the 5D is a no brainer.

If you aren't going to be shooting in wet weather, then the 5D would be my top choice. We're actually in the market for a backup camera and have considered the 1D along with the 30D, which is also a very nice camera that may suite your needs at half the price of a 5D.

One more thing to consider is size, the 1D is much larger than the 5D. We have the battery grip and that brings them close in size, but when you go on vacation, to the city or for a walk, we take the grip off to reduce the size a bit.

Good luck, I think you will enjoy which ever one you select.

Dave

headhunter66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2006, 2:01 AM   #4