Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Nov 18, 2006, 1:39 PM   #1

Hey guys,

Im looking into a 30d, im going to be mainly shooting mountainbiking, snowboarding and skateboarding. I will be shooting some low light shots but not many. Is this camera going to suite my needs? although I am not a verry experienced photographer i have some experience and am looking for something to "grow into"

thanks,

chris
chrissch is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 18, 2006, 5:31 PM   #2

Chris,
Though I am far from "experienced", I have recently added the EOS 30D along with BG-E2 battery grip to my otherwise aging camera collection. I spent years with my Nikon 2020 (35mm) taking thousands of photos and then started playing with digital. The 30D is the first "real" digital and I am enjoying it. For me, there is alot to learn about the dSLR but I can say it seems to truely be a camera to grow into.

Basically, out of the box you can get used to some of the many functions using fully automatic features. For me, that gave me a way to learn some of the very basics of the camera. It also made realize that for the amount of indoor family functions I needed to purchase a better flash. I went with the Canon Speedlite 580EX (another item to learn the many ways of using it) and at the same time ordered a Gary Fong's Lightsphere II as well as a much smaller diffuser. I am still weighing the vast array of choices in lenses and find that confusing (just me I guess).

So far, I love the camera and have no regrets. This is a mid-life hobby for me so I have my own reasons for pursueing it. I cannot believe you will regret the 30D.

Best of luck,
Steve
BrierS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2006, 7:06 PM   #3

I'm assuming you've got the budget, so this would be my suggestion: