Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Dec 1, 2006, 11:53 AM   #1

I am a newbie in DSLR arena. I post this similar topic in "what camera to buy" but received noresponse. So I post this again inhere and hope some one might have answerformy questions.

I am going to buy the DSLR and it will be my first DSLR ever.

I am considering buying the Canon 400D. It has many new features that I like and one feature is Self Cleaning feature. For the DSLR newbie like me, I hope this function may be helpful to me to clean the lens without dismount it from the camera.

But Canon 400D has no spot metering. !!!!
I have a panasonic FZ30 and spot metering is very helpful to me in some situations.
So I have a newbie questions here.

1) Are there any disadvantage of the lack of spot metering in Canon 400D compared to other Nikon D50 and D70s?
2)Has Canon 400 D included any other methods similar to spot metering?
So I can ignore the spot metering and use other meterings for shootings with 400D...
3) Is Canon 400D worth buying for the newbie?

Thanks for any inputs.

shooting star is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 1, 2006, 12:27 PM   #2
Administrator

In most cases, unless the shooter is very experienced, Spot Metering does more harm that good, because it can be difficult to find a neutral portion of the frame to meter from.

So, if you meter on a portion of the scene that's too dark, you'll get overexposed photos (because the metering will try to brighten it too much). Or, if you meter on a portion of the scene that's too bright, you'll get underexposed photos (because the metering is going to try to make it more neutral).

Most people would benefit from Center Weighted metering more in many conditions, where the camera places more weight on what in the center portion of the frame, while still factoring in what it sees in the rest of the frame.