Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jan 22, 2007, 8:26 AM   #1

Quick Question!

Aside from asking questions here, is there a guide I can read to learn how to use my camera. I just bought the Canon Rebel XTi and am starting to explore the functionality of the camera.

I am brand new to cameras, photography and need a guide in layman's terms that is not 500 pages. I have been reading the user guide and it is very good, but I want to get more information so as to fully understand the capabilities.

If there is a free online guide that anyone can recommend it would be appreciated!

Thanks in Advance!
McBain35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 22, 2007, 10:08 AM   #2

I'm going to suggest you change the way you're looking at the problem. Don't look at it from the standpoint "how do I use all the features of this camera", look at it from this standpoint:

what are the principles of photography, especially as they apply to the types of photography YOU do. The principles are the EXACT same no matter what DSLR you have - in fact, many of the principles are the same no matter what camera you have - including film (the noticable difference being that DSLRs have much shallower depth-of-field than digicams ).

The idea is to know/understand these principles then the manual will tell you how to control the settings you need to control on that particular camera.

Read books/articles/white papers on these principles: exposure, depth of field, composition. This is what's important to know. Knowing WHEN to use exposure compensation is the important thing - not necessarily how to achieve it on the XT (that's the easy part).