Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Mar 8, 2007, 4:37 PM   #1

When I shoot in the RAW mode with my 30d, does it matter what the contrast, sharpness are set on? Am I right in assuming the camera does not apply any "in house" changes to the file. Someone suggest I "turn off" any contrast or sharpening I had set in the camera when I was in the RAW mode...? Also suggesting as a novice I should shoot in JPEP fine rather than RAW, which was the opposite of what I had previously heard...Thanks, Donna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 8, 2007, 6:05 PM   #2

"When I shoot in the RAW mode with my 30d, does it matter what the contrast, sharpness are set on? Am I right in assuming the camera does not apply any "in house" changes to the file. Someone suggest I "turn off" any contrast or sharpening I had set in the camera when I was in the RAW mode...? Also suggesting as a novice I should shoot in JPEP fine rather than RAW, which was the opposite of what I had previously heard...Thanks, Donna"

For me, I would leave all the shapness, contrast, etc. settings alone "in house". The results you'll get with a Raw editor (PS, or your supplied Canon software) will be ALOT more satisfactory.

As for your last sentence, both bits of advice are true. For your average snap shot, keep it in jpg. For everything else, keeep it in RAW (*.CR2).

Loving my EOS 30D too!

Thanks,

jc :G
jjc30d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2007, 7:27 PM   #3

Thanks! donna
Old Mar 8, 2007, 8:48 PM   #4

D.Ann wrote:
Quote:
Also suggesting as a novice I should shoot in JPEP fine rather than RAW, which was the opposite of what I had previously heard...Thanks, Donna
Donna,

If you have the memory and don't mind the added workflow steps there's no reason not to shoot in RAW if that's your preference.