Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 22, 2003, 3:58 PM   #1

Default Help a Noob please :)

I am a novice (and I mean novice) at photography in general. I have a Powershot S400 right now and I took a bunch of photos from my wife's hooding and graduation ceremonies. I, needless to say, was very disappointed as to the # of photes that did not turn out. (either to dark, blurry, etc). Well this was a once in a lifetime event and now I have screwed up on capturing it in a manner that I would have prefered. So needless to say, I am looking at the SLR's now, hoping that a camera of this caliber coupled with a good lense or two can help me take better photos. (I am also going to look into taking a class or two in photography to help me out.) To get to my point, is the 10D the way to go, or am I just going to be disappointed with it as I will not know how to use it? Would I be better off with a 35mm slr until I take some classes? I just hate to throw money into a regular slr when I much prefer digital. For that matter, are there any other SLR's coming out (like a successor to the D100) that I should maybe wait for? I was looking at regular SLR's thinking that if I went that route at least any lenses I aquired would be transferable... but then again.. do I want to spend money on a regular SLR when I could pick up the 10D. I just don't know .. Please any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
glor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 22, 2003, 4:52 PM   #2

Hi,

Don't be offended by what I'm going to say.
The camera is often not the fault unless it's a real stinker.

Most of the time it's the wrong choice of surroundings that will be the real problem.

Like blurry faces or photo's are often due to a to low shutterspeed, a to low aperture size (a higher number) or just plain a wrong setting.

Did you use a flash and are these shots good ?