Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 5, 2003, 6:00 PM   #1

Default Shooting Headshot with 10D

FYI - I'm a vetran designer/art director that happened to have bought a 10D SLR. I love this camera.

I'm going to try to shoot a head and shoulders shot of a client of mine. Since I'm not a pro shooter and don't have a studio set up at all, I was looking for a couple of pointers from you all. I only have one lens, a 28-200 AF and the 420EX Speedlight Flash. I have a pro back drop that I scanned in a ways back, so I'll composite him onto that later.

I will have the freedom to try several things. I assume I'll try the portrait preset and see how that one goes first.

Thanks for any help. Oh, yeah. I'm shooting at 10 am tomorrow! :-)

Alex
Alex Campuzano is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 5, 2003, 8:22 PM   #2

For head shot portrait a very pleasing effect is achieved by using indirect window light as a softbox source. Shoot from a position were the window light is in back of you and over your shoulder. You may need a white reflector to fill shadow side of face slightly.
Watch that the highlights are not blown out. Try to get the catch light from the window in the upper left or right of the iris of the subject's eyes.
On-camera flash is not going to give you a flattering portrait unless its used as a bounce light off of ceiling or wall.
twcoffey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2003, 8:29 PM   #3

Something I forgot to mention.
Use your lens in the 50 to 100 mm range which will give a more realistic facial image. Working outside of this range will tend to exaggerate facial features which may not please the client.
Old Aug 5, 2003, 10:51 PM   #4

Alex,