Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 25, 2007, 12:31 PM   #1

hye there..

I am a newbie to dSLR. Own a EOS 400D /XTi

I'm want to upgrade from the kit lens to another general purpose lens and there are a few people recommending the Canon 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM.

Does anybody own one of this lenses. Can anybody with more knowledge than me advice me on this (or maybe have a better suggestion) - lens is kind of expensive at the moment for a beginner like me.

*I normally shoot people/ kids/ sometimes landscapes and close ups -hence the need for a general purpose lens

As always price is a major factor for beginners like me so if anybody can recommend a similar type / range from Sigma or Tamron (in my country it's hard to get other brands other than Canon / Sigma / Tamron).

If anyone has any suggestions I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks.
hazmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 26, 2007, 5:14 AM   #2

The Canon 28-135 IS lens is a good compromise lens. I have had excellent results with this lens. It is not as sharp as an L lense and it would be nice if the wide angle were wider, but for the type of shots you described, I think this would be a good choice. The IS feature is a big help for me as I have trouble in keeping the camera steady at slower shutter speeds.
harryp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2007, 1:18 PM   #3

hye..

Thanks Harryp for your comments on my question.

Other than this lens.. Does anyone have any other suggestions?

Maybe you guys can recommend me another lens?

Anything from Sigma / Tamron of almost equivelent range (maybe better) with roughly the same price (better lest)

Hope to have more suggestions.

Thanks again
Old Jul 26, 2007, 3:17 PM   #4