Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 13, 2003, 6:40 PM   #1

Default Best all around setting for outside photography

Hey Everyone,

Yeah this is probably a bad post. But I have a serious question. Outside, I dont seem to have a very high shutter speed. I change my ISO to say 400 or 800 and then it jumps way up, but then I get that grainy texture stuff going on. What do you recommend for a shutter speed with a lens of f4-5.6. It seems to work pretty good on say 125-250 /f5.6 /ISO 400. Is that a typical setting. You gotta keep in mind. Im kinda new to this manual stuff. The E-10 didnt help much...

Russell
UniSonBBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 13, 2003, 7:39 PM   #2

Well I guess Im gonna talk to myself on here... :lol:

Anyways, some of my test results I did. I used a tripod
for these settings. But these are the things I figured out.

ISO - The lower the ISO number (ie: 100) the better the image comes out to be. However, depending on light, a steady arm or a
tripod is recommended where it is required to use a slower shutter speed. You can higher the shutter speed by using a higher ISO (ie: 800) but may result in undesired picture quality results. But if you can try to shoot at ISO100 correct?

F-Stop - The lower the F-Stop (In my case its f4) the better off you are. The lower the number, the more light is allowed into the lens. There for you can use a higher shutter speed. However, with a zoom your f-stop grows and less light is taken in, which in turn makes your shutter speed drop. Thats where the ISO kicks in and makes it more sensitive to the light available, but again, can cause undesired results of picture quality.