Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 17, 2007, 3:24 PM   #1

I'm just getting into photography and had a few dollars to buy a DSLR. I bought the Nikon D80 and was pretty satisfied with it. I mainly just take shots of family and friends. I then saw I could get the 40D for a couple of hundred dollars more so I took back the D80 and got the 40D. My images came out sharp every time with the Nikon D80 kit with the 18-135mm lens but I seem to have a problem getting the same results with the 40D. Some images seem blurred even with the IS on the 28-135mm lens. This is all automatic/camera defaults on both. The shutter is much louder on the 40D but that is not much of a problem. I'm just trying to get the same PQ that I got from the D80 I had. One thing I can give to Canon, the instruction booklet is better laid out than the Nikon. Maybe I just need to learn the camera, and suggestions?
hugabone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 17, 2007, 7:27 PM   #2

are you aware this is the canon area ?
camerageak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2007, 9:24 PM   #3

Is tcamerageak wrote:
Quote:
are you aware this is the canon area ?
Is the 40D not a Canon?
Old Oct 17, 2007, 9:29 PM   #4

can you post some examples of pictures in question? That will help us identify what the problem might be.

Both kits you mentioned are very nice and the 40d and 28-135 is really a sharp lens so it should get you good results. Post some pics and we'll see what the problem might be.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2007, 9:32 PM   #5

Ok, thanks. I'll get some up tomorrow.
Old Oct 18, 2007, 4:24 PM   #6