Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Dec 29, 2007, 10:01 AM   #1

Wanted to take a second to introduce myself and thank everyone for the help. While you are not aware, you helped with my camera purchase. I was set on either a 400XTI or a 40D. I did hours upon hours of research on this site and a multitude of others. Let me say that this site is great!!!. I found lots of humble and not so humble opinions. I am new to photography and have been practicing with the different modes and lenses. I guess the main ting is that I am having fun and enjoying the camera, which is what it is all about for me. I doubt I will ever go on a safari picture taking spree, but I will be shooting the kids at their various sporting events.

I purchased the 40D as a kit and also bought the 70-300 IS lens and that huge thing they call a flash (580 EXII). I now have enough equipment to be rather dangerous and bothersome. This leads me to one of a thousand questions; what is proper etiquette when taking pictures at various events. A good example would be my daughters concert. The lights were dim and I used the flash to brighten it up a bit for some shots. No one said anything, but as I was driving home I wondered if I was out of line. Is it first come first serve at events where position is critical or does everyone try to share space?
piratelife is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 3, 2008, 3:22 PM   #2

You were probably right to feel a little weird after the recitle regarding the use of your flash. Flash is usually frowned upon, if not downright prohibited at many types of events, especially those where the lighting in the auditorium versus the stage is more dim. The main reason for this is to protect the participants of the show. Bright flashes coming from the dimly lit auditorium can be extremely distracting to someone performing on stage.