Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jan 4, 2008, 5:32 PM   #1

Hi

I am new to SLR so I hope you can help. I am wanting an SLR to take photos of my kids playing hockey. I was looking for an XTi with a Sigma 50-150 2.8, but then heard about the possible need for higher ISO than the XTi offers. Would the higher ISO option on the 20D make it a better choice than the XTi? Would I be very disappointed with the performance of the XTi with the lower ISO?Should I wait and save up enough cash for a 30D or 40D? I was wanting to spend as little as possible but don't want to screw myself. Is the lack of dust cleaning on the 20D a major issue?

Sorry for all the questions. Thanks very much for your time.

Carson
Carson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 4, 2008, 7:08 PM   #2

There are pros/cons to both.

First of all there is a definite difference in build quality / ergonomics between the two. The XTi is smaller and lighter and more plastic - the 20d is larger, heavier and more sturdy.

Both cameras have the same focus system which is important as the focus system is critical to a sports shooter.

The Xti has a larger LCD which is nice, but the 20d has ISO 3200 and 5fps (vs. 3).

The XTi has 10mp vs 8.2 for the 20d but for sports use this is minor.

If the 20d were new I would still choose it over the XTi.

But the 40d is a big step up the food chain - improved focus system and all 9 focus points are cross-type points vs. 20d and XTi where only center point is cross type.

I shot with the 20d for 3 years and it made me a lot of money so it's agreat camera. I personally really dislike the build quality and size of the XTi but others consider it a plus.