Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jan 7, 2008, 12:28 PM   #1

I've been using point-and-shoot digicams for years now and would like to step up an SLR, but I don't want to spend over $800 (yet) and was looking at Canon's digital Rebel XTi. Canon seems to refresh their lineup often so I was wondering if there has been any news or rumors of a successor to the XTi? As nice as it is, I'd like to buy something with more current technology like image stabilization, SD card support and a Digic III processor. I'm a complete SLR newbie so maybe all that stuff doesn't matter. What do you guys think? Is Canon about due to announce something new?
bchreng is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 7, 2008, 12:32 PM   #2

current rumours suggest a 5D mark II and an upgrade to XTi

As nice as it is, I'd like to buy something with more current technology like image stabilization, SD card support and a Digic III processor

I wouldnt bet on IS from Canon yet. Unless Nikon drives it Canon will stay content without the body IS.

THe New XT series could pose a Digic III, 12MP mostly,iso 3200, live view, dust protection/cleaning, 3" LCD, may be 11 point AF as in 40D.

Mostly taken frm 40D and Mark III but still showing a big difference between them.

5fps could be a possibility.

But this is my guess. Pure Guess
nymphetamine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2008, 2:34 PM   #3

I am thinking of upgrading from original rebel to xti but have been holding off until after PMA at the end of this month (and closely watching news from CES in the meantime!). Do you think that is long enough to wait for the rumors to bear out or will Photokina in September be the key? That, and I keep looking at the 40D and wondering if it is worth 100% more cost. Any thoughts on that too?
PhotoPhanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2008, 2:45 PM   #4