Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Sep 17, 2003, 12:01 PM   #1

Default EOS-300D - Realistic or NOT ??

I am very new to digital and film photography. I own a Nikon N80 film SLR which I just in AUTO mode (don't know much about manual mode). I would like to get into digital photography and am concerning a Digital SLR for the convenience of inter-changeable lenses (extreme wide angle to extreme telephoto). One of the models I am looking at is the Canon EOS-300D (Digital Rebel). I have done lots of reading and it seems that a lot of the "missing features" on this dSLR are starting to turn people away. People are complaining about: spot metering, lack of manual control, flash compensation, etc... How realistic are these complaints? Are the missing features only for advanced photography? The price is just right, but will it be a decision I will regret later? HELP!!!!!
agiaccio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 17, 2003, 1:35 PM   #2

If you don't do flash photography, you won't miss flash compensation. If you do, it can save the shot. I do very little with a flash, so I'm only repeating what I've read.

The 300D has the same spot meter as the 10D. That being said, I wish it was better/smaller. 9% (or so) of the image is just too big. Nikon got it right in their digital SLRs... their spot meter is more like... 3% or so? It matter less to a beginner, but when you get more advanced and want to lock a exposure setting and recompose, it is harder to do (because you'll have spot metered more than you want.) For example, I do a lot of nature/bird photography. I have stopped using the spot meter because it was picking up the bird and the background behind it. Found it rather frustrating. Instead I use the one which is more weighted at the center. There wasn't much difference, and it made the more evently lit shots better.