Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 8, 2008, 11:07 AM   #1

Greetings,
I'm new to the Canon SLR world and I've recently got a canon XSI. I've been reading about it and there are some complaints about front focusing issues and soft photos. I'm too much of a rookie to know if my camera suffers from any of those symptoms.
Therefore, i'm begging for some help. I was wondering if anyone wouldn't mind evaluating a few photos and letting me know if the camera seems to operate normally. There does seem to be a bit of chromatic aberration when you blow up an image to view at 100% but uncertain if that's normal, or if it may be camera or lens related.
Pictures are taken with the XSI and the kit lens in auto and landscape modes.
Thank you all in advance.
http://www.abload.de/img/img_0002v7f.jpg
http://www.abload.de/img/img_0046t8f.jpg
http://www.abload.de/img/img_0030ur1.jpg
http://www.abload.de/img/img_0104qqi.jpg
nosfera2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 8, 2008, 11:57 AM   #2
Administrator

That looks typical of what I'd expect to my eyes. The first image looks fine from a sharpness perspective (where the subjects sitting on the bank on the right side of the image is concerned, with the rest of the image acceptably sharp (and I see f/13 was used). You do see some DR (Dynamic Range) issues from the harsher lighting (to be expected)

In the next image, the brush you're focused on is so close, you're going to have a very shallow depth of field (and the camera was using f/8 ), and that looks like what I'd expect focusing on something that close).