Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 5, 2003, 2:51 PM   #1

Default 300D & good printer - comments?

Started with digital photography with a Finepix 2400 a few years ago but always maintained my 50E. Then I changed to a PC110e to capture our first child's first year. After the first year, I've taken nearly 1,000 digital images but only 3hrs of video - so a better digital is what I'm after.

I've ready the reviews, and am close to purchasing a 300d body, and a seperate 28-200 or 28-300 zoom.

I'm not a pro, but do want first class results. So is it the 300d or the D10?

Also, i'm sure my 950c deskjet isn't giving me the best printed results, so any recommendations on good printers?

Thanks
Craig
CraigBFG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 5, 2003, 4:07 PM   #2

If you want first class results, I would suggest to take a good look on the lenses you want to buy - what exactly do you have in mind? You must spend much money for a good 28-300! And for my opinion you should definitly buy the set of the 300D together with the 18-55!
1) For sure you can sell it for a good price, if you really don't want it, as it is not sold separatly, and there are some guys already out there regreting that they didn't buy it.
2) Don't forget, that a 28-200mm lens means 45-320 for the 300D. That's perfect for teleshots, but is 45mm really wide enough for all your needs?

Printer: I use a Canon S9000, which is able to print up to A3+ (the little brother is the S900 - same quality) - and it is excellent! Together with the Canon Photo-Paper PR-101 it produces prints, that have only one downside: They are not water proof. Beside this it is nearly impossible to see a difference to "normal" photos! Also it uses separeted cartridges for each of the 6 colors, so you don't have to change the whole cartridge just because one color is empty, like you have to with HP printers.

Have fun,
Klaus