Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 13, 2003, 11:21 AM   #1

Default Buy Digital rebel with the lens or buy EF 28-105mm f/4-5.6?

Hello,

I am new to this... I am planning to buy Digital Rebel. Is it better to buy the lens that comes with the body or instead buy EF 28-105mm f/4-5.6 USM (I checked it at circuit city and its 199.99 ). What do you guys think about this lens. I am just an amateur just want to take pictures of family and on vacations but want a digital SLR camera.

Any suggestion would be helpful.

TIA,

James
JamesMathew is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 13, 2003, 3:59 PM   #2

I would buy it with lens. From what I've read the 18-55 lens is actually pretty good. I just held the digital rebel with that lens in my hands the other day, and the combination is nice and small, and light. It is lighter, and smaller, than the 10D + 28-105 lens. Not an obtrusive, look at me, combination at all (if that is important to you).

You can always later decide you want more zoom, and get another lens.

I don't think the 28-105 F4-5.6 is very good, the 28-105 F3.5-4.5 is a lot better. But if that range is important to you, I would seriously consider the 28-135 IS.

Before you buy lenses at Best Buy or Circuit City, check the prices on B&H's website. They have very sharp pricing on Canon lenses. www.bhphotovideo.com

Barthold
barthold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2003, 11:16 PM   #3

Any opinions about using the Tameron 28-300 mm travel lens on the DRebel? This would all but eliminate the need to change lenses and expose the sensor to dust and dirt. I've read a good review on this lense in Shutterbug on a film camera. The sales person at the camera shop where I looked at the DRebel didn't seem to think this lense was a good choice. He said the 28-300 Tameron was trying to do too much and wasn't really good at any range. Anyone own this lense? THX.